Senior Honors Thesis Award

Awarded for the best senior honors thesis by a history major.

2018 (co-winner): Adam Moeller
"When Fire Swept the City: A History of Uganda's Queen Community and the LGBTI Movement"

2018 (co-winner): Caroline Whalen
"Colored to its Core: New York City and the Creation of a Slave Society"

Monsignor Francis A. O'Brien Award

This prize honors a superior research paper rooted in primary sources and written during the current academic year.  It is designed especially for papers written in Department Seminars (but any research paper of at least fifteen pages is eligible).

2018: Edward Kreienberg, "Men of Steel: How Novel Weapons Defined the Experience of Soldiers at the Western Front during the First World War"

Rev. Marvin R. O'Connell Award

This prize honors the best paper written in the History Workshop during the current academic year (faculty nomination).

2018: (co-winner) Sierra Gonzales, "Frenzied Women or Fierce Political Actors: The Agency of Women in the Triangle Fire." 

2018: (co-winner) Claire DeSelm. "The African American Citizen in the 1948 Election: Hearing the Voices Denied." 

O'Hagan Award

This prize honors a superior essay on any topic of Irish history, whether a research paper, a historiographic essay, a book review, or a topical paper.

2018: Emily Okupski
"'Free Hearts and Unsurrendered Spirits': Irish Female Nationalism and the Transcendence of Societal Boundaries"

Phi Alpha Theta

Phi Alpha Theta is the national honor society for undergraduates who study history. To be accepted into the society, a student must have completed four history classes, maintain a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.2, and achieve a minimum 3.8 average in History courses. New initiates will be announced annually in mid-April.