Awards and Recognition

Senior Honors Thesis Award

Awarded for the best senior honors thesis by a history major.

2018 (co-winner): Adam Moeller
"When Fire Swept the City: A History of Uganda's Queen Community and the LGBTI Movement"

2018 (co-winner): Caroline Whalen
"Colored to its Core: New York City and the Creation of a Slave Society"

View past winners

Monsignor Francis A. O'Brien Award

This prize honors a superior research paper rooted in primary sources and written during the current academic year.  It is designed especially for papers written in Department Seminars (but any research paper of at least fifteen pages is eligible).

2018: Edward Kreienberg, "Men of Steel: How Novel Weapons Defined the Experience of Soldiers at the Western Front during the First World War"

 View past winners.

Rev. Marvin R. O'Connell Award

This prize honors the best paper written in the History Workshop during the current academic year (faculty nomination).

2017: Nora McGreevy
"Female Voices in the Triangle Shirtwaist Fire"

View past winners.

O'Hagan Award

This prize honors a superior essay on any topic of Irish history, whether a research paper, a historiographic essay, a book review, or a topical paper.

2018: Emily Okupski
"'Free Hearts and Unsurrendered Spirits': Irish Female Nationalism and the Transcendence of Societal Boundaries"

View past winners

Phi Alpha Theta

Phi Alpha Theta is the national honor society for undergraduates who study history. To be accepted into the society, one must have completed four history classes, maintain a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.2, and achieve a minimum 3.7 average in your history courses. View current members of Phi Alpha Theta.